The Women in Entertainment Empowerment Network, WEEN, is a non-profit that creates the blueprint for women of color to spark change, shape history, take what is theirs, and rule like QWEENS.

Things got very personal in 2007, when four friends who worked in the entertainment business were offended by the portrayal of women in media and racist and sexist comments made by a shock jock towards an all-Black Rutgers University women’s basketball team. Together, Valeisha Butterfield-Jones, Kristi Henderson, Lauren Lake & Sabrina Thompson realized they were uniquely positioned to effect change from the inside out of such a male-dominated industry.

There was no platform for women of color to educate, empower and support each other professionally and personally, so they put their frustration into action and created the Women in Entertainment Empowerment Network (WEEN). Over the last decade, WEEN has impacted over 80,000 young women through leadership development and career placement programs and shifted the narrative of women of color in media, business and the community-at-large.

Plain and simple, WEEN creates the blueprint for women of color to spark change, shape history, take what is theirs and rule like QWEENS.

We believe in QWEENS putting on QWEENS.

We teach women of color to unapologetically tell our diverse narratives.

We strategically build dynamic leaders in education, entertainment, politics and technology to use our blueprint to spark change and shape history.

Our motto:


The WEEN Team


Valeisha Butterfield-Jones


Read More

Kristi Henderson


Read More

Lauren Lake


Read More

Sabrina Thompson


Read More

Staff Members

Yannize Joshua


Read More

Syreta Oglesby

WEEN Academy Director

Read More

Raven Robin

Director of Partnerships

Read More

Planning Committee

  • Anuska Gopiolal
  • Aquaria Harley
  • Asia Sutherland
  • Christina McSwain
  • Christina Rice
  • Danielle Pearman
  • Deborah Lynn
  • Elle Castro
  • Heather Haynes
  • Ivy Box
  • Iymaani Aytes
  • Jamila Cummings
  • Janaye Ingram
  • Jazmyn Allen
  • Jessica Williams
  • Jocelyn Drawhorn
  • Karen Francis
  • Kristi Henderson
  • Latasha Kennedy
  • Lauren Lake
  • Midwin Charles
  • Robin Johnson
  • Sabrina Thompson
  • Saleda Bryant
  • Serena Gatlin
  • Shakara Artis
  • Shantelle Guyton
  • Shauna Bruno
  • Sherise Malachi
  • Sophia Lewis
  • Syreta Oglesby
  • Tiffany Stewart
  • Valeisha Butterfield-Jones
  • Yannize Joshua

Board of Directors

  • Aleesha Renee
  • Angela Rye
  • Angie Martinez
  • Christina Rice
  • Erika Liles
  • Janaye Ingram
  • Miatta David
  • Midwin Charles
  • Necole Kane
  • Rosci Diaz
  • Shanti Das